I am a Very Happy Marshmellow

By now, almost everyone has heard of the record breaking Kickstarter campaign that made the Veronica Mars Movie happen. With creator Rob Thomas at the helm, millions of fans (or Marshmellows) around the world, banded together and opened their wallets to see their beloved TV series return. I, unfortunately, was not one of these fans. Not because I didn’t want to, but because I didn’t have a credit card at the time of the fundraising. Which in hindsite, was probably a good thing, as I would have donated a small fortune to see my favourite teenage P.I. get her return. And after seeing the movie last night, it would have been money well spent (even if it was money I didn’t have), as the movie was stright up awesome. I don’t remember the last time I left a theatre so satisfied. I am a very happy, warm and toasty marshmellow. Kind of like the middle of a gourmet smore. That’s me right now. And now I want a smore. Damnit.

20140315-154115.jpg

For those unfamiliar with the TV Series of Veronica Mars, I’m really sorry. You are sincerely missing out. I will admit, I missed the show when it originally aired, but in the summer of 2007, I decided to give Miss Mars a chance, and in a matter of weeks, I had devoured the entire series. Since then, I’ve watched it front to back at least 3 times, and will probably rewatch again soon. It’s just that great. While it isnt imperitive that you know the series before seeing the movie, I would recommend giving it a try. Not because the movie is totally unaccessible to non-VMars fans, but because it is SO GOOD when you get all of the little in jokes and cameos the movie has to offer. This is a movie made for the fans, you know.

The flick picks up nine years after the (incredibly depressing) series finale, and in a sort of “previously on” monologue, Veronica (Kristen Bell) gets us up to date on where her life has gone. She is now living in New York, about to write her BAR exam, and is on the brink of being a big shot lawyer. Aside from her Herst College alum. boyfriend, Stosh “Piz” Piznarski (Chris Lowell), Veronica has left Neptune and her P.I. life behind. That is until she receives a familiar phone call from a familiar face.

“I need your help Veronica”. The phrase that drove the series, is the one that drives this movie. Logan Echolls (Jason Dohring), Veronica’s on again off again hot headed boyfriend, has been accused of murdering his pop star girlfriend, and he has called on his ex to help him out. Veronica agrees to come back to Neptune so she can visit her dad (Enrico Colatoni) and help Logan pick a lawyer. Once she gets a taste of her old P.I. life, however, Veronica finds it hard to stop.

The movie is a great “whodunit” (although nothing will compare to the “Who Killed Lily Kane” case of season 1), as Veronica uses her old tricks to dig up information to prove Logan’s innocence. Of course, by a crazy random happenstance, the Neptune High 10 year reunion happens to be the same weekend Veronica’s in town, which means great reunions with all of our favourite, and not so favourite, Neptune characters.

I fear if I say anything else, I’ll spoil something, and I would hate to do that to any fan reading this. It is best to go into this movie untainted by anything, so you can just let the beauty of having Veronica back wash over you. It’s glorious.

So as I go into review mode, here’s your warning: SPOILERS AHEAD!!

As thrilled as I am with this movie, I know it’s not perfection. It is pretty damn close, but I do have a minor complaint. I wanted more Wallace (Percy Daggs III) and Mac (Tina Majorino). Veronica was no one without her friends. When they weren’t helping her solve the case, they kept her from being a complete social outcast, and by proxy, kept her sane. I understand the movie is about Veronica’s journey, and there were a billion cameos to fit in, but I wanted just a little bit more of those two.

Other than that, I’m really happy with this movie. I’ve read some reviews that disagree with where Veronica ends up at the end of the flick, both geographically and personally. After spending nine years trying to get away from who she was in high school, Veronica finds herself back in Neptune, living the P.I. life. People are saying that they feel sad for her, unable to get away from her past. But I don’t think she gave up a “better life” and “ended up” back where she started. I think she had to try and live a different life to realize who she really is. And I’m totally cool with where she ended up. Maybe because it leaves me a glimmer of hope that this won’t be the last we see of Veronica Mars. And maybe I should stop trying to apply psychology to fictional characters.

If you’re a newcomer to Neptune, fear not. My roommate, who has only seen a smattering of episodes, came with me, and couldn’t stop talking about how great the movie was. Sure some of the cameos and in-jokes might go over your head, but the story will keep you engaged and will hopefully encourage you to go watch the show. If your a fan of the TV show, you will absolutely adore this flick. The witty banter, the mysterious case, the love triangle, it’s all there. The Veronica Mars movie is everything the fans wanted, and needed, it to be. All of you kickstarter backers out there should be proud. You guys did good, and you made this Marshmellow very happy. Thank you.

Veronica Mars is now in theatres and available for digital download.

2 thoughts on “I am a Very Happy Marshmellow

Say Something

